Skip to content

LOST Thoughts – S5 E3

January 29, 2009

Here are my thoughts on the third episode of Lost (season five), “Jughead”:

  1. After spending so many years stranded on a remote island, wouldn’t a boat be the LAST place Desmond would want to live?!?
  2. Will there ever be a precise enough shift in time on the island for Locke and the gang to stumble upon Alpert during his extremely brief three-month “Batmanuel” phase?
  3. The mullet on Oxford-era Faraday rivals Miley’s daddy at his achy-breakiest.
  4. When Juliet’s Latin chat with The Others jarringly turned into a sudden escape attempt, Sawyer’s plea for Locke to shoot the fleeing soldier should have been, “Ixnay on the ompassioncay, Mr. Clean.”
  5. Oh, that soldier was…YOUNG WIDMORE!  That means he and Ben were both on Team Alpert at one point, so how did they become mortal enemies?  My money is on a pre-teen Ben recklessly getting his peanut butter in Widmore’s chocolate.
  6. For the love of Jacob, can somebody please get Charlotte a Kleenex?!?
  7. Going back to Alpert for just a moment…is it too rudimentarily ironic to point out his striking resemblance to Rod Serling?
  8. Now that we’ve learned that the camp of The Others is immediately adjacent to a bomb named “Jughead,” I fully expect future episodes to reveal a couple of Alpert’s non-Widmore footsoldiers are named Moose and Reggie.
  9. Back to the globe-yachting Hume family for a moment…if you’re wife is in her fourth trimester, wouldn’t you make a point of docking where you can run into a hospital to grab an obstetrician, rather than a mixed-use poker/cockfighting tent?
  10. I said it before and I’ll say it again – despite the growing protestations of Faraday – Miles needs more lines!!!

LOST Thoughts – S5 E1 & E2

January 22, 2009

Here are my thoughts on the first two episodes of Lost (season five), “Because You Left” and “The Lie”:

  1. SHOTGUN WILLIE!
  2. Why is Sawyer all of a sudden so uncomfortable without a shirt? Does Davidoff now own exclusive rights to images of a shirtless Josh Holloway?
  3. I want the recipe for Cheech’s caviar hoagies.
  4. I think Widmore has somehow turned Sun bad. She definitely seems to be up to something sinister when talking to Kate.
  5. As much as I love this show, Hurley is one Donnie Wahlberg sighting away from it jumping the shark.
  6. More Miles-issued snark, please!
  7. Hurry up and kill off the annoying British redhead already.
  8. Ethan Rom will always be the creepiest character on this show.
  9. Back to Sawyer, since when does he SLAP???
  10. And while we’re considering cast flotsam to jettison, can we get rid of Rose and Bernard? They’re no Helen and Tom Willis.

My Best of 2008 Mix

December 30, 2008

Give ‘er a listen…

Kings of Leon – “Be Somebody”
Tift Merritt – “Something to Me”
Elvis Costello – “American Gangster Time”
Jim Noir – “Same Place Holiday”
Death Cab for Cutie – “Long Division”
R.E.M. – “Living Well is the Best Revenge”
James Hunter – “Don’t Do Me No Favours”
The Baseball Project – “Long Before My Time”
Okkervil River – “Pop Lie”
Drive-By Truckers – “3 Dimes Down”
Eagles of Death Metal – “Wannabe in L.A.”
The Raconteurs – “Salute Your Solution”
She & Him – “Why Do You Let Me Stay Here”
The Black Keys – “I Got Mine”
My Morning Jacket – “Sec Walkin'”
Hayden – “Worthy of Your Esteem”
Damien Jurado – “Gillian Was a Horse”
The Hold Steady – “Navy Sheets”
The Helio Sequence – “Can’t Say No”
The Broken West – “The Smartest Man Alive”

Five Reasons The Dallas Cowboys Failed in 2008

December 28, 2008

Cowboys or CRYboys?

Cowboys or CRYboys?

1. There’s no “I” in “TEAM,” but there IS an “I” in “AMERICA’S TEAM.”
Whether it’s T.O. complaining that he’s not getting enough catches or Pacman complaining that he’s not getting enough rope, the Cowboys were ultimately unable to overcome the fact that their locker room is infected with selfishness, hubris and narcissism.

2. They should have made Tony Sparano an offer he couldn’t refuse.
The Cowboys bet on Jason Garrett and lost. They hoped they found the league’s next offensive mastermind, but were so fixated on the fact that he was a former Cowboy player and fan favorite that they overlooked his lack of significant coaching experience. Meanwhile, they let the guy walk who really made their offense tick, just because his name had no sizzle unless it happened to be misspelled.

3. The only thing this team showed any consistent commitment to all season was blaming the media for everything.
Not one coach or player on this entire franchise ever stepped up once all season and sincerely held themselves accountable for a single mistake. It didn’t matter if it was showdowns in the locker room or breakdowns on the field, every single bad thing that happened to this team inevitably was blamed on the media. Does Ed Werder miss tackles? Does Calvin Watkins commit repeated false starts? Does Jean Jacques-Taylor break off routes? Nothing is ever going to change until the people who draw a paycheck from the Dallas Cowboys start accepting responsibility for their actions.

4. There’s a reason nobody drafted Tony Romo when they had the chance.
Remember Don Majkowski? He was an off-the-radar no-name QB who took the NFL by storm out of nowhere in 1989 by throwing 27 TD passes and more than 4,000 yards for the Green Bay Packers, before quickly plummeting back to obscurity shortly therafter. He was a reckless gunslinger who somehow managed to catch lightning in a bottle for one season before his lack of pedigree and discipline caught up with him. Perhaps we are experiencing a bit of deja vu with Wisconsin’s own Tony Romo. He was a great feel-good story for a while there, but he’s really nothing more than a sandlot wizard whose bag of tricks has finally run dry. Ever wonder why you never see any of those blacktop playground hoop “legends” end up in the NBA? It’s basically the same principle at work here.

5. The head of the snake is still nothing more than a white trash Arkansas bumpkin with an enormous cow chip on his shoulder.
Ultimately, what is proving to be this team’s kryptonite year after year is the unhealthy and all-consuming obsession Jerry Jones has with having the spotlight constantly directed at his surgically-stretched snakeoil salesman smile. Underneath the blinding sheen of pomposity, he remains burdened by a lifelong inferiority complex, which has led him to measure success in terms of prestige instead of wins. He’d rather be GM of the team that leads the league in merchandise sales than hire a GM to lead this team to a championship.

Some of these things will be fixed this offseason, but too many others won’t. As much as it pains me to say it, don’t expect things to get any better in seasons to come. Jerry’s got his spectacular palace and the show ponies to trot onto his main stage, so anything else – winning included – is not a priority.

Best of ‘08 #1: The Broken West – Now or Heaven

December 28, 2008

The Broken West - Now or Heaven

The Broken West - Now or Heaven

This is one of my favorite tracks from the #1 album on my Best of 2008 year-end list: “The Smartest Man Alive” by The Broken West…

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started